Why am I alive?

Why am I alive?

A question you may have asked yourself many times. It seems each of us must have a purpose to our lives. We are constantly seeking a meaning to our existence.

1336284 kissing cloudI have watched over my lifetime as men and women who, in my eyes, seemed to be making a greater difference in their lives, have met sometimes tragic circumstances and were taken off this earth.

Why were those who are doing so much good taken and I still remain?

The fear of living your whole life and leaving this earth without making a difference to someone, has caused men to explore untamed lands, climb high mountains, seek cures for illnesses, and even enter politics. Men have chased after strange women, done odd things to their bodies, subjected themselves to dangerous situations, and worshiped other gods. All because they needed to find purpose and meaning to their existence.

The search is insatiable especially in these days when the whole world seems to be changing right before our eyes. Countries and their leaders are falling, storms rage from out of nowhere, the earth explodes in the rain of searing hot ash and poisonous gas. Men are faced daily with their mortality and also with their insignificance. At times like these, we seek after something that will say our life matters for something or someone.

Our inner man cries with a loud voice, but no one or nothing seems to hear. Like the tree that falls in the forest, we feel no one even notices. We become more frenzied in our actions. Driving as fast as we can though we don’t know why. We strike out at those whom we love, or who love us, for no apparent reason. We seek to amass great wealth on great quantities of material items, though we admit we don’t need them.

It all just seem so normal. We are convinced by those in IMG 4040our culture that we need to accomplish, or experience things in this way. We tolerate all the discomfort because it’s just supposed to be that way. King David once felt that way, he was overcome with his own weakness and his seeming inability to recognize trouble until it arrived on his doorstep. In Psalm 4:1-2 he says:

1. When I call, give me answers. God, take my side! Once, in a tight place, you gave me room;
Now I’m in trouble again: grace me! hear me!

2. You rabble—how long do I put up with your scorn?
How long will you lust after lies?
How long will you live crazed by illusion? (The Message)

King David was frustrated he let everyone down, especially himself. He had no where to turn, after all, he was the King, where was he to turn but to God? In the end, he realized the value of where he turned. Not to the powers that be in society, but to the God of all creation. In Psalm 4: 3-8 he begins to speak the truth that is already in his heart:

3. Look at this: look
Who got picked by God!
He listens the split second I call to him.

4-5 Complain if you must, but don’t lash out.
Keep your mouth shut, and let your heart do the talking.
Build your case before God and wait for his verdict.

6-7 Why is everyone hungry for more? “More, more,” they say.
“More, more.”
I have God’s more-than-enough,
More joy in one ordinary day

7-8 Than they get in all their shopping sprees.
At day’s end I’m ready for sound sleep,
For you, God, have put my life back together.
(The Message)

Why am I alive? The answer to that question can be complex or it can be very simple, it depends on what you have chosen to do with your life. As a father, you are called to be an example to your children and a head to your household. As a husband you are to be what Adam failed to be, the voice of reason and right actions. In the end it is all wrapped up in the few lines from Isaiah below:

1299964 sunsetGod’s Message, the God who created the cosmos, stretched out the skies, laid out the earth and all that grows from it, Who breathes life into earth’s people, makes them alive with his own life: “I am God. I have called you to live right and well. I have taken responsibility for you, kept you safe. I have set you among my people to bind them to me, and provided you as a lighthouse to the nations, To make a start at bringing people into the open, into light: opening blind eyes, releasing prisoners from dungeons, emptying the dark prisons. I am God. That’s my name. I don’t franchise my glory, don’t endorse the no-god idols. Take note: The earlier predictions of judgment have been fulfilled. I’m announcing the new salvation work. Before it bursts on the scene, I’m telling you all about it.” Isaiah 42:5 (The Message)

You are alive to make a difference in someone’s life.

En servicio como Padre

Dave

3 Responses to “Why am I alive?”


  1. 1 anewcreation February 17, 2011 at 2:58 PM

    Hi Dave,

    Beautiful piece of writing. I am so glad you are back on the scene.

    I have to say though I am not a big fan of “The Message” for reasons which I mention on one of my old posts entitled “The MESS-AGE Bible – God’s inspired word to us or simply a “MESS” that reflects the AGE we live in? which you can read here:

    http://anewcreation33.wordpress.com/2010/04/28/the-message-bible-gods-inspired-word-to-us-or-simply-a-mess/

    With love,

    Mercedes

    Like

    • 2 David February 17, 2011 at 10:03 PM

      Thank you, I must say it feels great to be back. I understand your comment about the message, I tend to verify and compare against several other versions, including the Amplified, NIV, and sometimes the KJV. I grew up with the KJV and find myself often praying in the language of the KJV. Thank you again for your comment.

      Like

  2. 3 when is weight loss a concern September 20, 2014 at 6:27 AM

    WOW just what I was searching for. Came here by searching for overweight
    dog

    Like


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 181 other followers

