Learn from this Mother

I was recently stuck in the Houston Airport due to one of our famous Texas Thunder Storms.  Delay after delay soon took the positive edge off my attitude.  After all, what was I going to do for 2, 3, 5 and eventually 8 hours?I was not alone though; there were a number of people, from other companies, headed to the same meeting.  One of those people was a young woman with a contagious positive spirit.  She laughed, joked, told stories, and generally made the best of a very frustrating situation.

As the day went on, I eventually had the opportunity to talk one-on-one with this surprising woman.  She is a single mother of three children, one daughter and two boys.  For the last eight years she has raised these children with little help from her ex-husband.  She has found her way from Administrative Assistant to a professional career with a major company.

In all this she has found there is no substitute for a real father figure in the lives of her children.  She has involved her children in many mentoring and other support programs to help fill the gap, all of which have had a significant impact on her children.  Still, she is keenly aware there is not substitute for the constant influence of a good father.

Hearing the words of this wise mother, I began to thank God that I have been able to provide a constant influence on my children.  Although, I must admit it was not without error.   I made mistakes along the way and did my best to counter the negatives I spoke into my children.  The point being, I learned each time I stumbled and made a wrong step.

This mother revealed years of missteps.  Some with her marriage, her relationship with her adulterous husband, even the discipline and rising of her children.  As I listened to her, I could see the regret for the mistakes she has made, but overshadowing this was a blinding light that was the marker of a parent that was making the most out of the lessons she has learned.

Fathers, you do not need to see your mistakes as failures.  Like this mother, you need to examine these faults and extract the learning points from them.  Put these experiences into practice.  Make changes in your relationships with your children and other significant people in their lives.  Talk to other fathers; learn from those who have traveled this road before you.  Above all, don’t be afraid to ask.  Make yourself vulnerable and open to learn.  Ultimately, you will be made strong in the process.

If you have no one to talk with, put your comments in a reply here.  I review the comments made and can determine not to post them if that is your request.  Otherwise there are strategic fathers everywhere who are more than willing to help.

En servicio como padre

Dave

0 Responses to “Learn from this Mother”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to Dadtalk

Subscribe to Dadtalk email updates

Vote for Dad Talk

RSS Ron Block

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

