A Father’s Choice

Sometimes I wonder if I have made some really bad choices in my life.  I was raised to believe that we have to live the consequences of our choices, no matter if we were sorry for them or not.

Then I think about my own children.  If they make bad choices, I as a Father, want them to experience the weight of these choices only to the extent that they recognize their mistake and learn to avoid them in the future.  I could/would not stand aside and allow them to go under just to learn a lesson.  If I have the resources to help them out of their circumstance;  I will, and have had opportunity to, do so.

I don’t think I am better than God.  If I would use all my resources so would He.  His resources are limitless.  If God is for us, who can be against us?(Romans 8:31)

Our God will help us through anything we can face.  He will use all His resources and will restore all we have lost seven times over. (Proverbs 6:31) If only we will recognize the unique relationship He longs to have with us. Think of the relationship you strive to have with your children, why would He be any different in His desire for you?

Lord help us to know where to turn.  What is our next step?  Even when all doors seem to be closed, make it clear to us what we need to do or be looking for at this present time.  Amen

En Servicio Como Padre

Dave

2 Responses to “A Father’s Choice”


  1. 1 Marianne Lordi June 17, 2009 at 11:02 PM

    We all have made bad choices in our lives but isn’t it wonderful to know that God knew of our weaknesses before we were born and he planned a way to take us through them all! Our failures and rebellion cannot stop his perfect plan for us. That is the love of a true Father!

    Like

    • 2 David June 18, 2009 at 8:25 AM

      And he does it in a way that doesn’t destroy us, although at times we may feel like we will certainly break. Thank you for your looking in on my post and for your comment. May God continue to bless your ministry.

      Dave

      Like


Leave a Reply

Subscribe to Dadtalk

Subscribe to Dadtalk email updates

Vote for Dad Talk

RSS Ron Block

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

